PCCP Fellows

Valerie Domcke

Current PCCP Fellow

Years: 

10/15/2015 to 10/15/2017

After graduating from the Technical University of Munich in 2010, I moved to Hamburg for a PhD in the field of particle cosmology under the supervision of Wilfried Buchmuller. Subsequently, from 2013 to 2015, I was a postdoc at SISSA in Trieste, Italy.

Fascinated by the interplay between elementary particle physics and cosmology, I study cosmological implications of Beyond the Standard Model scenarios. In particular, my aim is to implement different stages of the very early evolution of our universe within a single well-motivated theoretical framework, while simultaneously identifying possible observable features. To this end, I have worked on inflation, reheating, leptogenesis, dark matter, gravitational waves and neutrino physics.

Since joining APC in 2015, my main focus has been on probing the early universe with gravitational waves. Interacting extremely weakly, gravitational waves which are produced in the early universe travel freely until today, carrying information on times as early as cosmic inflation. My recent work has been on particle physics models of the early Universe which may produce a sizable gravitational wave signal.
 

Current research activities: 

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.

PCCP Fellows

Valerie Domcke

PCCP Fellow

Years: 

10/15/2015 to 10/15/2017

Après un diplôme à l'Université technique de Munich en 2010, j’ai effectué un doctorat dans le domaine de la cosmologie des particules sous la supervision de Wilfried Buchmuller à Hambourg. Pendant deux ans j’ai ensuite été postdoctorante à la SISSA de Trieste, en Italie.

Fascinée par l'interaction entre la physique des particules élémentaires et la cosmologie, j’étudie les implications cosmologiques de scénarios au-delà du Modèle Standard. Mon objectif est de mettre en œuvre les différentes étapes de l'évolution très rapide de notre univers dans un cadre théorique unique bien expliqué, tout en identifiant les caractéristiques observables possibles. À cette fin, je travaille sur l'inflation, le réchauffement, la leptogénèse, la matière noire et de la physique des neutrinos.

Depuis mon arrivée au Laboratoire APC en 2015, je me suis concentrée sur l'examen de l'Univers primordial à travers les ondes gravitationnelles. Les ondes gravitationnelles produites dans l'Univers primordial, parce qu'elles inter-agisssent très faiblement, voyagent librement jusqu'à nos jours, transportant des informations sur des temps aussi primordiaux que celui de l'inflation cosmique. Mon travail récent a porté sur des modèles de physique des particules de l'Univers primordial lequel peut produire un signal détectable d'ondes gravitationnelles.

Current research activities: 

RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX

Nous sommes sur les réseaux sociaux. Suivez-nous!