PCCP Fellows

Ivan Debono

EU Malta Postdoctorant

Years: 

01/05/2016 to 01/04/2019

After completing a PhD in astrophysics in 2009 at the University of Paris, under the supervision of Alexandre Réfrégier, I worked in industry and government before moving back into academia as a European Space Agency research fellow at the Paris Observatory and the AstroParticle and Cosmology Laboratory from 2012 to 2014. I returned in 2016 for three-year postdoctoral contract at the Paris Centre for Cosmological Physics.

I am interested the application of statistical techniques to the big questions in physics, particularly Bayesian model selection. To this end, I work on cosmic shear, CMB anisotropies, forecasting techniques for experiments, and cosmological model selection using astrophysical data.

My current research aims to identify the best ways to measure neutrino properties with large-scale structure data, and to test for possible signatures of departures from the Concordance Model in the dark energy and inflation sectors.
 

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.

PCCP Fellows

Ivan Debono

Postdoctorant UE Malte

Years: 

01/05/2016 to 01/04/2019

Après un doctorat en astrophysique in 2009 à l’Université de Paris Diderot, sous la direction d’Alexandre Réfrégier, j’ai travaillé dans le secteur privé et la fonction publique, avant de revenir dans le milieu universitaire de 2012 à 2014, dans le cadre d'une bourse de recherhe de l’Agence Spatiale Européenne, d’abord à l’Observatoire de Paris, puis au Laboratoire AstroParticule et Cosmologie. En 2016, j'ai commencé un contrat postdoctoral de trois ans au Paris Centre for Cosmological Physics.

Ma recherche se concentre sur l’application des techniques de la statistique aux questions fondamentales de la physique, particulièrement la sélection bayesienne. À cette fin, je travaille sur le cisaillement gravitationnel, l'anisotropie du fond diffus cosmologique, les prévisions des observations, et la sélection de modèles cosmologiques avec des données astrophysiques.

Actuellement, je mène un programme de recherche pour mesurer les propriétés des neutrinos avec les structures à grande échelle, et pour tester les possibles déviations du Modèle de Concordance en ce qui concerne l’énergie sombre et l’inflation.

 

RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX

Nous sommes sur les réseaux sociaux. Suivez-nous!